Cry of the Raven – Book Review

Greetings, fellow readers! Today, I am reviewing the final book in The Ravenwood series by Morgan L. Busse, Cry of the Raven. You can read my Goodreads reviews for Book 1, Mark of the Raven, and Book 2, Flight of the Raven by clicking on the titles.

Book Synopsis

My Review

Wow. What a rollercoaster of emotions this series has been. It has been two weeks since I finished the book and I am still processing.

Selene and Damien have gone through quite a journey, as they each wrestled with who they are and came face to face with the consequences of their House histories. In book 3 we get to see how some of the other houses respond when brought face to face with the decisions of their ancestors. 

Reading this book caused me to ask the same questions the characters had to ask. Am I responsible for righting the wrongs of people who came before me? If so, what should that look like? What does it mean to be a peacemaker? 

The internal struggles of all the characters, both primary and supporting, were very relatable. Though the different houses did not agree on everything, it was clear that they were each approaching the problem from a deep love for their people and their country. Though each house had different concerns, and varying degrees of hurt and mistrust to work through, I loved watching individuals make the conscious choice to work towards unity, even when it stung their pride. The author did a fantastic job of showing peacemaking as a difficult and fragile thing that must be worked on continually, while also showing the victories (both big and small) that make it worthwhile.

I loved Selene and Damien’s scenes together and wish there could have been even more. They have such a sweet and tender relationship in spite of everything they have going against them. It was beautiful to watch them fight for their marriage in little and big ways. I also LOVED watching Selene finally discover the true purpose behind her gift, and how powerful it was when she used it for the comfort and enrichment of others, and for the glory of The Light.

Overall, I would say this series has been about reconciling the past, redeeming the future, and the very difficult but important work of peacemaking that is necessary in order to accomplish both things. This would be such a great book for a book club of teenagers and adults who would like to discuss such things.

**I received an advanced copy of this book for reviewing purposes. I was not required to submit a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Favorite Quotes

“At the end of the day, we must each stand or fall by our own ideals. Choices will need to be made. And…lives will be lost. After all, this is war. But who will you be after the war? We don’t want a repeat of our ancestors where they had to bury the truth of what happened four hundred years ago because of shame and regret.”

“She closed her eyes, her ears filled with the gentle sound of the wind, her nose filled with the sweetness of the night.

This is what the dreamer does.

It was more than a memory; it was a voice from the past, speaking to her here and now in this place.

The Nightwatcher protects those around her during the deepest parts of the night. The dreamer comforts the weary, inspires the broken, and brings peace to fearful minds.

This, my dream walker, is what you were made to do.”

Author Bio

Morgan L. Busse is a writer by day and a mother by night. She is the author of the Follower of the Word series and the award-winning steampunk series, The Soul Chronicles. Her debut novel, Daughter of Light, was a Christy and Carol Award finalist. During her spare time she enjoys playing games, taking long walks, and dreaming about her next novel.




Twitter: (@MorganLBusse)



Leave a Reply